Favorite Food Friday: Chickpea Peanut Butter Muffins

Muffins are probably my go-to healthy treat or snack! It’s usually easy to adapt them so they have minimal sweetener, they’re pre-portioned, and they’re just so convenient! These flourless chickpea muffins from Ambitious Kitchen have quickly become one of my favorite muffins because they’re higher protein than most muffins I’ve found. Hope you enjoy them as much as I do!

Image from Ambitious Kitchen

Recipe Highlights

  • Gluten free
  • Oil free (if using natural peanut butter)
  • Vegan option (if using flax eggs & dairy free chocolate chips)
  • High protein/lower carb than most muffins
  • One bowl (just a food processor)

Serving Suggestions

I usually double this recipe so I can keep some muffins on the freezer. They’re just such a convenient breakfast, snack, or treat! When doubling, I often use half eggs and half flax eggs — I’ve found that yields the best texture. This recipe *does* work with all flax eggs, but the muffins will be a little denser.

If you’re using flax eggs, I would recommend adding about 1/2 tsp (or 1 tsp if doubling) of baking soda. This will add a little extra leavening to help the muffin texture. I also recommend letting the batter sit for a few minutes before putting into the muffin tin. That way the batter has time to puff up (kind of like pancake batter) before you bake it.

Perhaps most importantly is the sweetener. One batch calls for 1/2 C maple syrup or honey. When I double the recipe, I use about 1/3 C of maple syrup or honey (instead of the 1 C that’s called for). I’ve also subbed mashed banana, though I would use the full amount as it doesn’t taste as sweet as the honey/syrup. You can play with the amount/type of sweetener you use, but I think the muffins are plenty sweet with a good deal less sweetener than the recipe calls for.

Want more healthy recipes? Subscribe to get more ideas!

Leave a comment