Favorite Food Friday: Best Healthy(ish) Brownies!

I have tried probably a zillion “healthy” brownie recipes. Okay, that might be a slight exaggeration. But the point is, I’ve made a lot of them! And usually, they taste fine. These sweet potato brownies from Minimalist Baker are pretty good, but way too dense. Other recipes are way too cakey. But when you’re cooking healthy treats, you can’t be picky, right?

Wrong!

One day I was browsing for a healthy treat to make, and lo and behold, I found them. The best. Brownies. Ever. (Okay, the best healthy brownies ever.) They were moist without being too fudgy, cakey without being too dry. The just right in-between texture. Mmm!

Recipe Highlights

  • Low sugar
  • Refined sugar free
  • Dairy free
  • Whole wheat
  • Extra veggies!
  • Delicious texture

Tips and Tricks

To make these semi-healthy brownies even healthier, I did a few things. First, I subbed half of the sweetener for mashed banana. Because while maple syrup and honey are better than straight-up sugar, they’re still considered added sugars. (For a more in depth sweetener comparison, read my article here!)

Next, I subbed half the coconut oil for unsweetened applesauce. The healthiest type of oil/fat to use in baking is debatable, so feel free to use your choice of fat. If you do dairy, grass-fed butter may have more omega-3 fatty acids than the regular stuff. Coconut oil has lots of mixed reviews when it comes to nutrition. Margarine and shortening are high in trans fats, so probably best to avoid those.

And lastly, my guilty confession is that I used a little all-purpose flour along with the wheat. (Maybe that’s why they tasted so good! 😉 ) I have too many bags of white flour from when I could hardly find flour at all (thanks a lot, COVID-19), so I’ve been slowly trying to use them up.

These are also delicious with some dark chocolate chips sprinkled on top! Enjoy!

Read my article for more healthier treat ideas! And don’t forget to subscribe to see the latest healthy eating tips.

Leave a comment

Leave a comment